About the Foundation

 About the Foundation

The Prospect Hill Foundation is a private foundation established in New York in 1959 by the late William S. Beinecke, then President and Chairman of the Sperry and Hutchinson Company and his wife, Elizabeth G. Beinecke. In 1983, The Prospect Hill Foundation merged with the Frederick W. Beinecke Fund, which had been established by the will of William S. Beinecke’s father and was later augmented by the will of Carrie Sperry Beinecke, his mother.

The mission of The Prospect Hill Foundation is to advance the human experience while ensuring the well-being of the earth. The Foundation pursues this mission by making grants in four program areas: Environment, Nuclear Disarmament & Nonproliferation, Reproductive Health & Justice, and Youth Justice; and with Sponsored Grants supporting the philanthropic interests and activities of Beinecke family members. The Foundation’s grants support activities mainly in the northeastern United States. Each program area is governed by a committee of board members. In addition to the program committees, the Foundation has two management committees: Audit and Finance & Investment.

 Annual Report and Audit

The Foundation’s Annual Report for 2016-17 and current Audited Financial Statements are now available for review as PDF documents.

Download the 2016-17 annual report

Download the current audit

Contact Us

The Prospect Hill Foundation
99 Park Avenue, Suite 2220
New York, New York 10016-1601
T: (212) 370-1165
F: (212) 599-6282
E: grants@prospect-hill.org